The resort town of Haapsalu, set on the Väike Viik inlet, has been a magnet for bathers and holiday-makers since the mid-19th century. Walking by the body of water is still an elementary part of spirited summer life in the town.
The Wiigi Villa was actually completed around 1850 and was initially owned by countess Rehbinder, yet it has been repeatedly rebuilt and adapted for various purposes. The latest renovation works were prompted by the need to modernize utilities and wet rooms and refresh the building’s overall appearance. A subsidiary goal was to find a suitable way to showcase the owner’s art and furniture collection.
The interior architect and the owner of the property set the task of restoring all of the original parts of the historical building. In the course of the renovation, the original room layouts were restored, with the addition of windows to catch natural light. The timber ceilings, the worn floorboards of the bedrooms, old stairs and interior doors were preserved. Traces from different periods were also on display, such as the walls covered with panelling on the second floor and the facade of the fireplace in the living room, which was a later addition.